Fashions on the Field Calendar

Fashions on the Field events tend to spring up on me unexpectedly. I’ll often find out about one less than a week before the event, sending me into a whirl of panic.

If you want to produce a winning outfit, you will want to give yourself a few weeks to prepare your outfit, especially if you are having your dress or hat custom made.

To help you plan out your race event schedule, I have listed all major Fashions on the Field events in the calendar below. The dates may change, some FOTF may be cancelled and some events are yet to be announced, so please check the exact date with your local racecourse.

2018 racing fashion calendar events

** Note: Most of the dates in the calendar below are from 2019 (pre-COVID). They give an idea of roughly when events occur throughout the year, check with your local race club for exact dates as some events may have been cancelled or postponed.  **

January

Queensland:

  • Magic Millions Raceday, Harrolds Fashions on the Field (not the QLD state final this year), Gold Coast Turf Club, Saturday 11th January 2020.

South Australia:

  • Coonawarra Vigneron’s Cup, Penola Race Course, Thursday 16th January 2020.
  • Ceduna Cup, Ceduna Race Club, Saturday 18th January 2020 (Fashion at the Races qualifying event).

Western Australia:

  • WA Country Cups Great Southern Regional Heat, Albany Race Club, Date TBA

Tasmania:

  • New Years Day Longford Cup, Tasmanian Turf Club, Wednesday 1st January 2020.
  • St Marys Pacing Cup, Tes Harness FOTF, St Marys Harness Racing Club, Wednesday 1st January 2020.
  • Burnie Cup, Tes Harness FOTF, Burnie Harness Racing Club, Date TBA
  • Devenport Cup, Devenport Racecourse, Wednesday 8th January 2020.
  • Scottsdale Pacing Cup, Tes Harness FOTF, Scottsdale Harness Racing Club, Friday 10th January 2020.

New Zealand:

  • Centenary Race Meeting, Cambridge Raceway, Date TBA.
  • Kumara Races, Kumara Race Club, Saturday 11th January 2020.
  • Nelson Harness Racing, Nelson Harness Racing Club, Sunday 12th January 2020.
  • Wellington Cup FOTF, Wellington Race Club, Saturday 18th January 2020 (Viva Prix de Fashion Qualifier).

February

Queensland:

  • Girls Day Out, Doomben Racecourse, Saturday 22nd February 2020.

New South Wales:

  • Condo Picnic Races, Condoblin Race Track, Saturday 22nd February 2020.

South Australia:

  • Strathalbyn Cup, Strathalbyn Racing Club, Sunday 2nd February 2020 (Fashion at the Races qualifying event).
  • Naracoorte Cup, Naracoorte Racing Club, Sunday 9th February 2020 (Fashion at the Races qualifying event).
  • Lock Cup, Lock Racecourse, Sunday 16th Monday 2020 (Fashion at the Races qualifying event).
  • Kangaroo Island Cup, Kangaroo Island Racecourse, Saturday 22nd Saturday 2020 (Fashion at the Races qualifying event).

Tasmania:

  • Hobart Cup, Tattersall’s Park, Sunday 9th February 2020.
  • Carrick Park Pacing Cup, Tes Harness FOTF, Carrick Park Racing Club, Saturday 15th February 2020.
  • TAB Launceston Cup, Tasmanian Turf Club, Wednesday 26th February 2020.

Victoria:

  • Blue Diamond Stakes, Caulfield Racecourse, Photo Comp, Saturday 22nd February 2020.

Western Australia:

  • WA Country Cups Peel Regional Heat, Pinjarra Race Club, Saturday 9th February 2019. TBA

New Zealand:

  • Taranaki Cup Race Day, Taranaki Racing Club, Saturday 1st February 2020.
  • Waitangi Day Races, Wairarapa Racing Club, Thursday 6th February 2020.
  • Ladies Day FOTF, Waikato Racing Club, Te Rapa, Hamilton, Saturday 9th February 2019. TBA
  • Touch of Teal FOTF, Hororata Trotting Club, Methven Raceway, Sunday 9th February 2020.
  • Matamata Breeders Stakes Day, Matamata Racing Club, Saturday 22nd February 2020.

March

Queensland:

  • Winton, North Gregory Turf Club, Saturday 28th March 2020.

ACT:

  • Black Opal Stakes Day, Thoroughbred Park, Sunday 8th March 2020.
  • Canberra Outlet Centre Charity Race Day, Thoroughbred Park, Saturday 23rd March 2019. TBA

New South Wales:

  • Miracle Mile, Club Menangle, Saturday 7th March 2020.
  • Goulburn Country Championships, Goulburn and District Racing Club, Saturday 2nd March 2019. TBA
  • Ladies Day, Rosehill Gardens Racecourse, Saturday 14th March 2020.
  • Longines Golden Slipper Race Day, Rosehill Gardens Racecourse, Saturday 21st March 2020.

South Australia:

  • Port Lincoln Cup, Port Lincoln Racing Club, Friday 6th March 2020 (Fashion at the Races qualifying event).
  • Penong Cup, Penong Racecourse, Saturday 14th March 2020 (Fashion at the Races qualifying event).
  • TAB Adelaide Cup Day, Morphettville Racecourse, Monday 9th March 2020.
  • Kimba Cup, Ravendale Park Racecourse, Sunday 22nd March 2020 (Fashion at the Races qualifying event).
  • Streaky Bay Cup, Streaky Bay Racecourse, Saturday 28th March 2020 (Fashion at the Races qualifying event).
  • Millicent Cup, Millicent Racing Club, Sunday 31st May 2020 (Fashion at the Races qualifying event).

Victoria:

  • Yarra Valley Cup Day, Yarra Valley Racecourse, Date TBA
  • Mornington Cup, Mornington Racecourse, Photo Comp, Saturday 21st March 2020.

Western Australia:

  • Bunbury Ladies Day, Bunbury Turf Club, Sunday 8th March 2019 (WA Country Cups South West Regional Heat).

Tasmania:

  • Launceston Pacing Club, Tes Harness FOTF Final, Sunday 22nd  March 2020.

New Zealand:

  • Oaks Night, Alexandra Park, Auckland Trotting Club, Friday 1st March 2019. TBA
  • Vodafone Derby Day Auckland Cup, Ellerslie Racecourse, Saturday 29th February 2020 (black and white theme).
  • Barfoot & Thompson Auckland Cup Day, Auckland Racing Club, Ellerslie, Saturday 7th March 2020 (Roaming judges will ‘spot’ best dressed).
  • Bayleys International Raceday, Tauranga Racing Club, Saturday 21st March 2020.
  • Fashion in the Field, Awapuni Racing Centre, Saturday 28th March 2020.

April

New South Wales:

  • The Championships Day 1, Royal Randwick Racecourse, Saturday 6th April 2019 (black and white theme).
  • The Championships Day 2, Longines Queen Elizabeth Stakes, Royal Randwick Racecourse, Saturday 13th April 2019.

Queensland:

  • Audi Centre Toowoomba Weetwood, Clifford Park Racecourse, Saturday 6th April 2019.
  • Easter at Einasleigh, Einasleigh, Thursday 18th to 22nd April 2019.
  • Beaudesert Anzac Day Races, Beaudesert Race Club, Thursday 25th April 2019.

Western Australia:

  • Amelia Park Karrakatta Plate Day, Ascot Racecourse, Saturday 6th April 2019.

South Australia:

  • Oakbank Easter Races, Oakbank Racing Club, Saturday 20th April 2019 (Fashion at the Races qualifying event).
  • Clare Easter Races, Clare Valley Racecourse, Saturday 20th April 2019 (Fashion at the Races qualifying event).
  • Penola Cup, Penola Racecourse, Sunday 21st April 2019 (Fashion at the Races qualifying event).

May

Queensland:

  • Mt Garnet Races, Mt Garnet Turf Club, Friday 3rd May 2019.
  • James Boags Doomben 10,000 Race Day, Doomben Racecourse, Saturday 11th May 2019.
  • Hardy Brothers Doomben Cup, Doomben Racecourse, Saturday 18th May 2019.
  • Ladies Oaks Day, Sunshine Coast Turf Club, Friday 31st May 2019.

New South Wales:

  • Wagga Wagga Gold Cup, Murrumbidgee Turf Club, Friday 3rd May 2019.

South Australia:

  • Oaks Day at Morphettville, Morphettville Racecourse, Saturday 4th May 2019.
  • Pink Ladies Day, Port Augusta Race Club, Sunday 5th May 2019.
  • Publicans Race Day, Balaklava Racing Club, Wednesday 8th May 2019 (Fashion at the Races qualifying event).
  • Mount Gambier Gold Cup, Mount Gambier Racing Club, Friday 10th May 2019 (Fashion at the Races qualifying event).
  • Goodwood Day, Morphettville Racecourse, Saturday 18th May 2019.
  • Hawker Cup, Hawker Race Club, Saturday 25th May 2019 (Fashion at the Races qualifying event).

Victoria:

  • Warrnambool Cup 3 day Carnival, Warrnambool Racing Club, Tuesday 30th April to 2nd May 2019.
  • Casterton Cup, Casterton Race Club, Sunday 19th May 2019.

 buy rent hat fascinator millinery headpiece

 

June

Queensland:

  • Treasury Brisbane Ladies Oaks Day, Doomben Racecourse, Saturday 1st June 2019.
  • Ubet Stradbroke Day, Doomben Racecourse, Saturday 8th June 2019 (black and white with a touch of red theme).
  • Ipswich Cup, Ipswich Turf Club, Saturday 15th June 2019.
  • Beaudesert Cup, Beaudesert Race Club, Saturday 22nd June 2019.
  • Tattersall’s Club Tiara Raceday, Doomben Racecourse, Saturday 22nd June 2019.
  • Laura Races, Laura Race Track, Saturday 29th June 2019.
  • Alpha Races, Central QLD Fordham Park Racecourse, Saturday 29th June 2019.
  • Caloundra Cup, Sunshine Coast Turf Club, Saturday 29th June 2019.

South Australia:

  • Farmers and Graziers Squatters Cup, Augusta Race Club, Sunday 23rd June 2019.

Western Australia:

  • WA Country Cups Carnarvon Ladies Day, Carnarvon Race Club, Saturday 8th June 2019.

Northern Territory:

  • Adelaide River Races, Adelaide Creek Racecourse, Saturday 1st June 2019.

July

South Australia:

  • City of Port Augusta Cup, Port Augusta Racing Club, Sunday 7th July 2019 (Fashion at the Races qualifying event).
  • Port Augusta RFDS Race Day, Port Augusta Race Club, Sunday 21st July 2019.

Western Australia:

  • WA Country Cups Port Headland Ladies Day, Port Headland Turf Club, Sunday 21st July 2019.

Northern Territory:

  • Bridge Toyota Ladies Day, Darwin Turf Club, Wednesday 17th July 2019.
  • Ladbrokes NT Derby Day, Darwin Turf Club, Saturday 20th July 2019 (black and white theme).

August

Northern Territory:

  • bet 365 Palmerston Sprint Day, Darwin Turf Club, Saturday 3rd August 2019.
  • Darwin Cup Day, Darwin Turf Club, Monday 5th August 2019.

Western Australia:

  • WA Country Cups Broome Ladies Day, Broome Turf Club, Tuesday 13th August 2019.

Queensland:

  • Red Beret Hotel Cairns Cup Day 1, Cannon Park Racecourse, Saturday 3rd August 2019.
  • Red Beret Hotel Cairns Cup Day 2, Cannon Park Racecourse, Saturday 10th August 2019.
  • EKKA FOTF, RNA Showgrounds Brisbane, Monday 12th August 2019.
  • Mekka Race Day, Doomben Racecourse, Wednesday 14th of August 2019.
  • Mackay Beach Horse Races, “Fashions on the Sand”, 2018 event was cancelled, tba if it will run in 2019.

South Australia:

  • Roxby Downs Cup, Roxby Racing Club, 3rd August 2019 (Fashion at the Races qualifying event).
  • Quorn Cup, Quorn Jockey Club, Saturday 24th August 2019 (Fashion at the Races qualifying event).

September

Queensland:

  • Cairns Amateurs Ladies Day, Cannon Park Racecourse, Friday 13th September 2019.
  • Cairns Amateur Cup Day, Cannon Park Racecourse, Saturday 14th September 2019.
  • Derby Day, Mackay Turf Club, Saturday 21st September 2019.

New South Wales:

  • NSW Myer FOTF State Final, Colgate Optic White Stakes Day, Empire Lounge, Lyne Park, Rose Bay, Saturday 21st September 2019.

Tasmania:

  • TAS Myer FOTF State Final, Shout Out To The Girls Brunch, Tasmanian Racing Club, Sunday 8th September 2019.

October

ACT:

  • Tony Campbell Memorial Cup Race Day (Student race day), Thoroughbred Racecourse, Friday 11th October 2019.

New South Wales:

  • Moet and Chandon Spring Champion Stakes Day, Royal Randwick Racecourse, Saturday 12th October 2019.

Western Australia:

  • WA Country Cups Hannan’s Handicap Ladies Day, Kalgoorlie Boulder Race Course, Wednesday 2nd October 2019.
  • WA Country Cups Northam Ladies Day, Northam Race Club, Sunday 6th October 2019.
  • WA Myer FOTF State Final, Crown Perth Opening Day, Perth Racing, Saturday 12th October 2019.
  • WA Country Cups Geraldton Ladies Day, Geraldton Turf Club, Sunday 13th October 2019.

Victoria:

  • Procal Dairies Gunbower Gold Cup, Gunbower Racing Club, Saturday 5th October 2019.
  • Ecycle Solutions Murtoa Cup, Murtoa Marma Racing Club, Saturday 5th October 2019.
  • Patties Foods Bairnsdale Cup, Bairnsdale Racing Club, Sunday 6th October 2019.
  • Ladbrokes Caulfield Guineas Day, Caulfield Racecourse, Saturday 12th October 2019.
  • Ladbrokes Manangatang Cup, Manangatang Racing Club, Saturday 12th October 2019.
  • Moe Optical Moe Cup Day, Moe Racing Club, Thursday 17th October 2019.
  • Avoca Cup, Avoca Shire Turf Club, Saturday 19th October 2019.
  • Stella Artois Caulfield Cup Day, Caulfield Racecourse, Saturday 19th October 2019.
  • Godolphin Seymour Cup, Godolphin Race Course, Sunday 20th October 2019.
  • Bet365 Geelong Cup, Geelong Racing Club, Wednesday 23rd October 2019.
  • Run For the Roses Cox Plate Day, Alexandra Racing club, Saturday 26th October 2019.
  • Weir’s Supa IGA St Arnaud Cup, st Arnaud Turf Club, Saturday 26th October 2019.
  • Yarra Valley Cox Plate Day, Yarra Valley Racecourse, Saturday 26th October 2019.
  • Ladbrokes Sale Cup Day, Sale Turf Club, Sunday 27th October 2019.
  • Jayco Bendigo Cup, Bendigo Jockey Club, Wednesday 30th October 2019.

Queensland:

  • Emerald 100, Emerald Jockey Club, Saturday 12th October 2019.
  • QLD Myer FOTF State Final, Clayfield College Family Raceday, Brisbane Racing Club, Eagle Farm Racecourse, Saturday 12th October 2019.
  • St Peter’s Caulfield Cup, Rockhampton Jockey Club, Saturday 19th October 2019.
  • Cox Plate, Gladstone Turf Club, Saturday 26th October 2019.
  • Suez Raceday on Cox Plate Day, Doomben Racecourse, Saturday 26th October 2019.

South Australia:

  • SA Myer FOTF State Final, Murray Bridge Gold Cup, Murray Bridge Racing Club, Friday 18th October 2019.

November

All States:

  • Melbourne Cup Day, main event is at Flemington Racecouse but most racing clubs nationwide will hold their own FOTF event, Tuesday 5th November 2019.

Victoria:

  • Bet 365 Mortlake Cup Day, Mortlake Racing Club, Saturday 2nd November 2019.
  • Elders Mt Wycheproof Cup, Mt Wycheproof & District Racing Club, Saturday 2nd November 2019.
  • Ladies Day @ Traralgon, Latrobe Valley Racing Club, Saturday 2nd November 2019.
  • Derby Day, Flemington Racecourse, Saturday 2nd November 2019 (black and white theme).
  • Melbourne Cup Day, Flemington Racecourse, Tuesday 5th November 2019.
  • Oaks Day, Flemington Racecourse, Thursday 7th November 2019.
  • Yarra Valley Pacing Cup Day, Yarra Valley Racecourse, Thursday 7th November 2019.
  • Balla